Home > News > News > CLCC Celebrates 2020 Excellence in Conservation Winners


Fall foliage scene in the mountains

For 2020, CLCC’s Excellence in Land Conservation Awards were celebrated via Zoom as part of the annual Connecticut Land Conservation Conference. Although the honorees shared wonderful videos acknowledging their awards, we were not able to personally present them with their award certificates – a tradition we always enjoy as part of the annual conference plenary session.

Fast forward one year. At a small ceremony at the deKoven House, the CLCC staff presented Dennis Kern, President of the Berlin Land Trust, with the 2020 Katchen Coley Award for Excellence in Land Conservation. It was a lovely event, attended by Dennis, his wife and several board members.

To honor our friends at the Natural Resources Conservation Academy (NRCA) with the Excellence in Conservation Organization Award, we gathered for an informal outdoor celebration at the UCONN Storrs campus. Accepting the award on behalf of the NRCA team were Laura Cisneros, David Dickson, and Nicole Freidenfelds.

Congratulations again to our 2020 winners!

Man receiving an award
Dennis Kern (Berlin Land Trust) receiving the 2020 Katchen Coley Award for Excellence in Land Conservation

Three people accepting an award
UConn NRCA team with the 2020 Excellence in Conservation Organization Award
(From L to R): Nicole Freidenfelds, Laura Cisneros, David Dickson

Photo Credit: UConn